Buying a ranch...how and good idea? - Forum
Main | Site Rules | Register
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]

Page 1 of 212»
Forum » Horse Isle 2 » Horse Isle 2 Chat/Help » Buying a ranch...how and good idea?

Buying a ranch...how and good idea?
ItchyFeetDate: Saturday, 2010-12-04, 10:21 PM | Message # 1
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Stall Mucker
Group: Users
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Hey guys, I was hoping you could help me out with a decision. With rent and being a full time student, I don't have the real money to buy a subscription, so I go on sub tokens from other players. Should I buy a ranch? How much does it cost to buy the ranch and have a barn to hold more horses? Finally, where do I go to buy a ranch? Thank you!!!
 
CritterCrazedDate: Sunday, 2010-12-05, 7:51 AM | Message # 2
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Stall Mucker
Group: Users
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Ranches cost varying amounts of money- it depends on the size you want. Buying a ranch is an investment that I feel is quite worth it.

You can build regular windmills for only $250k. Also, there's my personal favorite, the kayak. The kayak will help you get supplies for quests, crafts, and/or simple selling wares to help you make money while saving on boat fair- if you don't have to travel to various places to pick up what you need, you won't have the expenditure of the trip. And there are things you can grow on a ranch that can only be found on ranches, such as wool and Maple Syrup. If you know how to properly utilize a ranch, it can give back to you 10 fold.

I would recommend checking out different ranches, as there are different options you can have on a ranch. Grass or plain? Castle, tree house, or Greek Colosseum or something else? Personally, I prefer grass.

To make sure you don't miss a sub, there's always the option of pinching your pennies, and keeping as much as possible in the bank, until you can afford to get the ranch you want. If you need to take from it to get your next sub, at least it was there to take from instead of already invested in a ranch. Then you can continue to save and scrape until you have made your investment.

Oh, and here's a quick tip. If you haven't already, I would go talk to the GlacierTon Dock Master. For $20k he can give you a non-expiring dock pass to any ranch, whether you own one or not. (You will, however, have to ask if you can go to your ranch for free for once, even if you don't have one. The conversation will lead towards getting that pass, saving even more on transportation when you need to pick up items for a quest you're working on.)

 
IdyllDate: Thursday, 2010-12-30, 10:19 PM | Message # 3
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username: Asylum
Saddle Shiner
Group: Users
Messages: 36
Status: Offline
Critter has answered this quite thoroughly, thank you. smile And she is absolutely correct. A bud of mine had once said she could afford a medium ranch, but I advised her to go with tiny because of the costs.

Also, if you want a lot of trees and mushrooms and the like, a grass isle is perfect for you, and has a nice, green look to it. But if you want lots of rose and berry bushes and whatnot, a prairie isle is for you, and offers a rustic, wild west theme.

If you care not for what your home looks like, the log cabin is the cheapest and most widely used of homes because of this. Over time, the expansions become very expensive. Log cabins cost less in this regard than say, castles or Colosseums would.


For external use only. If ingested, call your poison control center immediately.
 
CameoRoleDate: Monday, 2011-02-07, 6:03 PM | Message # 4
Main Server:
Eternal Username: CameoRole
LifeCycle Username:
Hoof Picker
Group: Users
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Hello
While on the subject of ranches where or how do we get a kayak?
 
IbisDate: Tuesday, 2011-02-08, 8:51 AM | Message # 5
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Awesome
Group: Users
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
You can put a kayak in one of your ranch building spots. wink
 
CameoRoleDate: Thursday, 2011-02-17, 10:01 AM | Message # 6
Main Server:
Eternal Username: CameoRole
LifeCycle Username:
Hoof Picker
Group: Users
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
Quote (Ibis)
You can put a kayak in one of your ranch building spots.

Thank you biggrin

Added (2011-02-17, 9:01 Am)
---------------------------------------------
Is there any detailed list of how much it cost and item levels for the upgrades on ranches. I have a tiny ranch (yay me lol) I would like to upgrade my shed so I can have two extra horses etc but I realized too late that once I had chosen an upgrade from the lists then I got nothing until I anted up for the next upgrade. surprised

 
AussieMistDate: Thursday, 2011-02-17, 4:34 PM | Message # 7
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username: WrappedUpGood
Saddle Shiner
Group: Users
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
Quote (CameoRole)
Is there any detailed list of how much it cost and item levels for the upgrades on ranches. I have a tiny ranch (yay me lol) I would like to upgrade my shed so I can have two extra horses etc but I realized too late that once I had chosen an upgrade from the lists then I got nothing until I anted up for the next upgrade. surprised

BBB Book in the library. smile

Glad to help.



Pet's name: Misty
Adopt virtual pets at Chicken Smoothie!
 
HareBellDate: Wednesday, 2011-02-23, 9:30 PM | Message # 8
Main Server:
Eternal Username: Harebell
LifeCycle Username:
Hoof Picker
Group: Users
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Quote (CameoRole)
While on the subject of ranches where or how do we get a kayak?

if what you're asking is how to *use* the kayak, it's accessible from the welcome sign of the ranch, as are all the other ranch functions. it took me a while to figure that out on my first ranch lol

harebell <3's grassy ranches!

 
TawnyHeartDate: Monday, 2012-08-20, 5:13 PM | Message # 9
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Stall Mucker
Group: Users
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
While on the question what if your sub runs out do you still keep the ranch?
 
CallaLilyDate: Tuesday, 2012-08-21, 11:42 AM | Message # 10
Main Server: Eternal
Eternal Username: CallaLily
LifeCycle Username:
Connemagical
Group: Users
Messages: 63
Status: Offline
TawnyHeart, yes, you can still keep the ranch, but you will not receive any of its benefits (e.g. no extra horse spots from barns, can't access ranch trains, no production items, etc.). You also won't be able to travel to your ranch. However, as soon as you renew your subscription, your ranch will be opened again and you will start to receive its benefits. It's almost as if your ranch "goes on pause" while you don't have a subscription.

Yes! My avatar is my own horse, in case you were wondering. She's a dork, I know.
 
Ash0971Date: Wednesday, 2015-03-11, 7:15 PM | Message # 11
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Stall Mucker
Group: Users
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
How do you sell your vegetables and items grown on your ranch? I'm new to HI2, and I just bought my ranch and added vegetables on the lot so that I may sell them. How does one go about that?
 
PersonDate: Wednesday, 2015-03-11, 10:45 PM | Message # 12
Main Server: Eternal
Eternal Username: CandyNutmeg
LifeCycle Username: Irony
Weirdo Shettie Freak
Group: Senior Squad
Messages: 225
Status: Offline
Quote Ash0971 ()
How do you sell your vegetables and items grown on your ranch?
You get the vegetables put in your inventory every 24 hours. After they're there, you can do anything with them - sell them in a general store, put up a ranch store and sell them there, or use them as craft/quest items.


~Candy

"My best friend gave me the best advice,
He said each day's a gift and not a given right."
-Nickelback, If Today Was Your Last Day
"Reality's a lovely place, but I wouldn't wanna live there."
-Owl City, The Real World
 
RadicalOneDate: Thursday, 2016-06-23, 4:33 PM | Message # 13
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Stall Mucker
Group: Users
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I also have a ranch and was wondering, if I have slots filled with horses and my subsciption runs out, will I lose the horses or will it be like "you have the following horses 8 of 5 max" and just be weird.
 
PersonDate: Friday, 2016-06-24, 5:21 AM | Message # 14
Main Server: Eternal
Eternal Username: CandyNutmeg
LifeCycle Username: Irony
Weirdo Shettie Freak
Group: Senior Squad
Messages: 225
Status: Offline
Quote RadicalOne ()
I also have a ranch and was wondering, if I have slots filled with horses and my subsciption runs out, will I lose the horses or will it be like "you have the following horses 8 of 5 max" and just be weird.

The game will never take horses away from you. It'll just say "___ of 5 max," and you won't be able to ride until you renew your sub or find another way of gaining those slots back (medallions, club bonus, etc).


~Candy

"My best friend gave me the best advice,
He said each day's a gift and not a given right."
-Nickelback, If Today Was Your Last Day
"Reality's a lovely place, but I wouldn't wanna live there."
-Owl City, The Real World
 
TwilightSkyesDate: Friday, 2017-01-13, 3:21 PM | Message # 15
Main Server:
Eternal Username:
LifeCycle Username:
Stall Mucker
Group: New User
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
If you have a ranch how many horse total can you have?
 
Forum » Horse Isle 2 » Horse Isle 2 Chat/Help » Buying a ranch...how and good idea?
Page 1 of 212»
Search: